And I Am Ready To Take Some Photos…

My First Scavenger Hunt Sunday …

Well here is my first attempt at Scavenger Hunt Sunday…I have to say I have been a long time scavenger hunt viewer but first time poster…and a little nervous at that….here we go….

1.  BOKEH…

This is an old street light in the park…

2.  PROCESS OF ELIMINATION

Fun with the shadows from sunset this weekend…

3.  REMEMBER

This is a photo of a note that I left for my husband on 9/11.  We live in NYC and my husband was working downtown at the time.   When the planes struck the World Trade Center my husband was in Central Park…as you can tell from this note (which was written by me shortly after the first plane crashed and then edited when the second plane crashed – see the change of the 1 to a 2) the gravity of the event had not yet sunk in…my worry for my husband at that time was simply traffic. ..if that had really been our only worry…

Photography love...

4.  STATUES

I think this statute needs a little touching up…if I was better at photoshop perhaps I would try and fix it 🙂

5.  Flying Higher

While he doesn’t have too much air under his feet I love this photo of my nephew jumping while playing basketball with my dad…

And now my nephew is flying high…

Well that was fun….

12 responses

  1. Great set. What a sad note from ten years ago. I remember hearing about the first plane and picturing a little one-person plane, thinking it was an accident. I went on and taught my next class with none of us understanding what was happening. I loved your “flying higher” pictures. So sweet.

    September 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    • Thanks for the comments Marcy. I was on the phone with my sister-in-law when the first plane struck the WTC and I said to her the very same thing…oh it must be one of those small planes.

      September 11, 2011 at 8:24 pm

  2. Great shots! I love Remember, Statues, and Flying High

    September 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  3. Welcome to your first Scavenger Hunt…beware, it’s addicting! 🙂 My goodness, thank goodness you had the forsight to save that note you wrote to your husband. I am such a “throw it out” kinda gal, that saving it would never even have crossed my mind. What a little piece of history you have in your possession there…priceless! Thanks for stopping by my blog, come back any time 🙂

    Kathy

    http://www.youllshootyoureyeout-kathy.blogspot.com

    September 11, 2011 at 10:43 pm

  4. Welcome to the Scavenger Hunt and Exploring with a Camera both! So nice to have you joining in. I love your shadows. Amazing you kept this note. It does show how these huge events had no place in our daily view of the world at the time, we had no context. Thanks for sharing!

    September 11, 2011 at 11:30 pm

  5. I love your new photo blog, I will have to bookmark it on my blog.

    Great photos! Love the one of your Dad and Mays. Reminds me when your Dad helped teach us to play basketball when we were little. I didn’t realize Mays had such auburn red hair – what a cutie!

    September 12, 2011 at 12:07 am

  6. Love your flying high made me smile Welcome to Scavenger Hunt Sunday and it is addicting.

    Saun in Ohio http://grtbluheron.blogspot.com

    September 12, 2011 at 12:20 am

  7. These are so great – that flying high shot is wonderful. I love his little expression!

    September 12, 2011 at 1:26 pm

  8. Nice shots! Your “remember”s hot is so haunting… thanks for sharing.

    September 13, 2011 at 12:40 am

  9. I truly love your images. You’ve done such a wonderful job at interpreting each prompt. Your ‘remember’ shot gave me goosebumps – the edit is chilling. Your Bokeh shot is beautiful – looks like something out of a fairy tale – very mystical!

    September 14, 2011 at 11:38 am

  10. Beautiful photos…loved the note left for your husband!

    September 16, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Leave a Reply

